Self Care

Realising Your Potential

Why did you start your journey?

Think about what you’re doing right now. Your career, your hobbies, your lifestyle. Why did you start it? There must have been something inside you that said, “this is what I want to do,” with enough affirmation to go ahead and do it.

Nine times out of ten, it’s because we are inspired. We see someone excelling in a career they love, and we want to do it too. We scroll through Instagram and see people doing these amazing things, and we want a piece of the action as well. We’re at the gym and we gaze at people who look strong and athletic, and we want to be like that too.

It’s important to have inspiration

Inspiration keeps us going. Whether we use someone else as our inspiration, or maybe even ourselves, it gives us the drive and the strength to keep going in whatever it is we are trying to achieve. It’s useful to use both as our motivation: to try and again the same great success someone else has worked so hard towards and to try and harness their drive, and also to use ourselves as motivation; to look back on the past and see where we came from to where we are now is the ultimate inspiration to keep going.

But what happens when the tables are turned?

We always look to other great, successful people to inspire us. But have you ever thought that someone might be looking at you in this way? Everyone, at some point in their lives, inspires another person. Whether that’s a work colleague looking to you to emulate your passion for the career you’re both in; whether it’s someone who looks over at you in the gym longingly, wanting your figure and your passion to succeed in your training… you never really know when people find you inspiring.

We must always try to inspire

My philosophy on life has always been to work as hard as I can. It’s as simple as that. I have put everything into my education, my career, my lifestyle, and the gym in order to get where I am today. I don’t necessarily do this to inspire other people, but mainly because I have always had this drive instilled in me from a young age, and if that’s something which inspires others, and if I can help even one or two people have a similar drive, then I will have made a positive impact on not only my life but the lives of others, too.

What is the point of this ramble?

Last week, I went to Birmingham Young Professional of the Year Awards,  celebrating the young talent in the second city. It was incredible to be in a room filled with hard working, driven people who are making the most out of their lives and their careers.

And it made me think, that it wasn’t only just those nominated that were inspiring – it was every single one of us in the room. We could look to the winners for inspiration, of course, but we could also look around at work colleagues and people on the tables around us for inspiration; for courage, resilience, determination, passion.

It made me reflect on what I have done, and what I can do to inspire other people. I started this blog because I don’t think the Internet can really have enough fitness blogs. Especially positive ones. When I first started my journey, I’d liked to have read honest,

When I first started my journey, I’d liked to have read honest, first-hand accounts of different things that work. To be told that it’s not one size fits all, and that you are on your own path, your own journey, and what you do doesn’t have to be what everyone else does, it just has to be what makes you happy. What you find inspiring. 

Take from this blog what you will, but if you take one thing away, I want you, the reader, to know that even when sometimes it doesn’t feel like it, you are inspiring. You are motivating. You are succeeding. Just as much as the person you look to for inspiration is.

Leave a Reply

