Resolutions

When it comes to New Year’s resolutions, we often look at giving something up. Whether it’s removing something from our lives, or simply attempting to be healthier and better with our choices.

I haven’t made a New Year’s resolution in, well, years. For the past couple of years, being healthy, for me, hasn’t been a challenge, and nor has going to the gym been one either.

But this year I want to do something different, I do want to make myself a better person, but not by removing or adding something to my life, but by building upon what I already have.

I will be stronger.

Recently, I started working with a personal trainer after some in-depth chats. He gets me and I get him, and I can’t wait to hit the ground running in the new year with a proper programme and new goals. The main goal is strength. For so long I’ve either maintained or cut, but I want to truly push myself now to build more muscle and to grow as a person too.

I will finally get over fearing food.

I still have moments where I am nervous, on edge, or anxious when it comes to food. But since I pledge to get stronger, I know that with it, I will be able to finally let go of this last, little lingering thought. I’m slowly upping my macros and I know it will help me not only physically with strength and muscle gains, but also mentally with putting my mind right once and for all.

I will slow down.

My life is lived at 100mph and recently, that’s taken its toll. I am realising I must look after myself and stress less, and in order to do that, I simply need to breathe. To not let little things get to me, to walk instead of run, and to remove as much stress as possible from my life.

People see the new year as a chance to become a new person. I don’t think there’s a need for that. Sure, if you want to leave something behind in 2016, or do something new in 2017, that’s fine. But I think the best way to progress and have a good mindset is to build on what you already have. There’s no need to start again when you’re already half way there.

Leave a Reply

