I’ve Changed Gyms

Slightly contrary to my previous blog the other week, I’ve not been feeling completely motivated recently.

I’ve been tired. Really tired. Work is a really important part of my life for me, but so is the gym. I fit both into my life and put effort into both, meaning I have to juggle a lot of things and I have a very busy life.

Which, don’t get me wrong, I love. But I work in Birmingham city centre, and, until recently, after 8 hours at work I was then getting a bus for 40/50 minutes to get to a gym, and then another bus home.

I was getting there and feeling exhausted before even beginning my workout. The gym was also really small: I could get there at 6pm and have to change up my workout purely because nothing was free. Two squat racks, one smiths machine. You get the (sad) picture.

I’ve also been on a low carb diet over the past couple of months meaning generally I have been slightly more tired because of having less energy going  into my body. My choice, but when you aren’t as energetic you need the rest of your life to align with this, and it just wasn’t.

It occurred to me that I needed change when I got to the gym one day a  couple of weeks ago and didn’t even want to train. I pushed through it, but I knew I needed to change and I knew changing gyms would be the key.

Pure Gym Walsall was great. I loved it. But I outgrew it.  I’m now at an easyGym, 30 seconds walk from my workplace. It’s bigger, better, and I’ve been there almost a week now and I love it. So much space, so much equipment!

Why am I telling you this?
Because sometimes we need to change. We need to make decisions which make our lives better. It was a hard decision to leave somewhere where I knew a lot of people, was friendly with all the personal trainers, and the gym itself had changed me completely.

Before I joined there 14 months ago, I didn’t train properly. Not how I do now. I did weights but they were light and I didn’t do splits. I hated my body. I did cardio and HIIT every day. But that gym changed my mindset, my lifestyle.The people there helped me and got me to a point where I am now comfortable to quit there, walk into a new gym that is more bodybuilding-centered, and happily get on with my workout confidently.

The people there helped me and got me to a point where I am now comfortable to quit there, walk into a new gym that is more bodybuilding-centered, and happily get on with my workout confidently.

The start of a new journey, and one I am really looking forward to.

Leave a Reply

