Change

The Importance Of Change

We’ve all been there. Whether it’s at work, at the gym or even our daily lives, we’re all guilty of repeating the same actions far too often.

I used to do the same workouts over and over at the gym, eat exactly the same things the majority of the time, and got to a point where I just hit a plateau. Although I didn’t know it at the time, I was doing it all wrong. 

Your body and your brain are both complex, clever little things. Because when it comes to the gym and your diet, and repeating the same actions too often, you get used to it. You plateau. You stop progressing and just kind of stick where you are.

This is why change is good. But how can you change in order to be constantly be improving?

Change your workouts every week
I always keep the same splits, I’m not saying change those, but never do the same back workout in week 1 that you do in week 2. I keep some of the same exercises but I’ll go heavier on one exercise and lighter with more reps on another. It keeps your body guessing (also why interval training burns so much fat) and keeps your muscles on their toes, so to speak.

Mix up your splits once in a while
Maybe every few months, just change around what you do and when you do it. Normally do bis and tris? Do back and bis, and save tris for another day. Train shoulders on their own instead of with chest. It’ll make it more interesting for you too, as we all know that repetition gets boring after a while.

Don’t eat chicken and broccoli every day
I have nothing against this meal – I eat it often – but change it up a bit. There are so many different meals that are healthy, clean and will help your muscles grow. Don’t think that you must eat chicken and vegetables at every meal to drop fat or gain muscle. Diet doesn’t have to be boring.

Alter your diet
This isn’t for everyone, but I’ve found it really beneficial to do carb cycling. It’s meant I’ve dropped some fat, but still kept my muscles, and I also feel better in myself (less bloated etc). Obviously, this won’t last forever: soon, I’ll be back up to higher carbs and go on a lean bulk to grow more muscle. I think it’s important not only to eat different meals all the time but to change your diet to see what works best for you. Try IIFYM, eating cleaner, carb cycling, cheat days. I think it’s important to experiment with diets as much as it is to experiment with training – after all, both are just as important as each other!

I think change is so important in order to grow. My daily life is pretty similar, and I do like the routine, but my training and my diet are constantly changing so that I can constantly change too.

Leave a Reply

