Chest Day… for girls

I’m a firm believer that you can do whatever makes you happy. But also know that you should always try new things – sticking to what you know is boring, and you’ll never grow that way.

Before I had a PT (almost a year ago now) the only real chest exercises I did were press ups. Now training chest is actually one of my favourite things to do. So I’m always a bit dubious when you see/hear girls (and I’m talking big fitness bloggers here) saying they don’ train chest/don’t want to.

Why? Training chest does not mean you will get a chest split and lose your boobs. Like most muscles, you will only get out what you put in. If you really want to go that far, do the training to get you there. If, like me, you just want a nice, all round figure, training chest is just as important as leg day, back day etc. etc.

It’s not manly to train chest – without wanting to sound completely up my own arse (promise I’m not) I have a really nice upper body shape, and part of this is down to spending time on my chest  (it’s also given my boobs a bit of a lift and for #TeamSmallBoobs that is vital in life).

But this isn’t to say I’m all about that bench life. Like I’ve said before, I am a hypertrophy girl; I love reps and hitting the heavy weights doesn’t bother me. I don’t bench. Sometimes I’ll press something like 20kg for reps but that’s it.

For me, I love doing dumbbell flyes, dumbbell chest press, all your cable flyes/crossovers, different types of press ups, assisted and unassisted dips. Chest day for me just helps me with my all round shape and I love it, I normally train them with shoulders and I have to say, I always ache the next day no matter what I’ve done.

I’m totally not saying you should definitely train chest, if it’s not for you then it’s not for you. But definitely do not rule it out just because you think it’s a boy thing. I don’t want a boy chest. I don’t want to look like a man. We have come so damn far in teaching girls that weights won’t make you bulky or manly, so don’t fall into the trap of singling out chest day as an enemy.

Leave a Reply

