Breakfast Time

I am a huge advocate of breakfast. I can’t start the day without eating something and I thoroughly believe it’s the most important meal because it sets you up for the rest of the day.

So I thought I’d put together a post of nutritious and filling breakfasts I like to have, and how to make them:

ON THE GO
Cinnamon and Vanilla Proats

Cinnamon and Vanilla Proats

Proats, or protein oats, are a really easy meal to prepare the night before a busy morning when you don’t have time to make an actual meal before leaving the house. I eat these when I have to leave the house early for work for I can either eat them just before I leave, or while I’m on the way

WHAT YOU NEED
– 1 cup of oats
– 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
– 100ml milk (I prefer almond)
– 3 tbsp greek yoghurt
– cinnamon (to taste)
– berries

HOW TO MAKE IT
– get a bowl or a tupperware box (if you’ll be eating it on the go) and pop in your protein powder
– add the milk and the yoghurt, and gradually add the oats, stirring as you go
– once everything is mixed in, add as much cinnamon as you’d like and top with berries (I use frozen so by the morning they’re defrosted) and pop in the fridge

THE STAPLE
Porridge

Porridge

When I actually have time to make breakfast, I always turn to porridge: a great source of carbs and protein to start my day.

WHAT YOU NEED
– 1 cup oats
– 2 cups water (or milk if you prefer)
– 1 tbsp sweetener

HOW TO MAKE IT
– add all the ingredients into a pan and bring to the boil, constantly string until the consistency is to your liking
– I mix cinnamon into mine, or sometimes top it with a banana and honey if I want something a bit sweeter, but you can top it with anything that takes your fancy!

A LITTLE MORE TIME
Poached eggs and avocado on toast

Poached eggs and avocado on toast

This takes a bit more time, but it’s super filling because it’s full of healthy fats to keep you going until lunch.

WHAT YOU NEED
– 2 eggs
– 2 pieces of bread
– half an avocado (mashed)

WHAT TO DO
– boil your eggs and pop your bread in the toaster
– spread the avocado evenly on each slice, top with your eggs and pop some pepper on top or even some chilli flakes for an extra kick

NICE AND NOT SO NAUGHTY
French Toast

French Toast

Or eggy bread, depending on what part of the country you’re from – no judging here, I like to pretend I’m posh and call it French Toast. This tastes like it’s naughty but it’s not at all – win win!

WHAT YOU NEED
– 2 eggs
– 2 pieces of bread
– frozen berries (defrosted)
– cinnamon (to taste)

WHAT TO DO
– whisk your eggs and pop them in a dish
– coat each slice of bread (both sides) with the egg
– get two frying pans and pop some oil/spray (I use Frylight or coconut oil) in them and put on a high heat
– add the bread and cook until both sides are to your liking
– microwave the berries for about a minute/a minute and a half
– place the bread on a plate, cover with the hot berries and top with cinnamon (I promise I don’t add this to all my meals)

NOT JUST FOR ONE DAY OF THE YEAR
Protein Pancakes

Protein Pancakes

There are so many recipes for protein pancakes, but this is probably the recipe with the lowest fat content (sometimes I’ll use coconut flour instead of a banana)

WHAT YOU NEED
– 1 egg and 2 egg whites
– 1 large banana
– 1 scoop protein powder
– 1 tsp baking powder
– toppings of your choice

WHAT TO DO
– mash your banana
– put your whole egg and two egg whites into a jug or a bowl and whisk them
– add the banana and your protein powder and mix together to form a batter
– mix in the baking powder
– heat some oil/spray in a frying pan and add your batter, forming a small circle (think American pancakes as opposed to the UK’s pan-sized ones)
– cook all your pancakes (flipping if you’re brave enough) and place them on top of each other on your plate
– add your toppings – I usually go for greek yoghurt, warm berries, a squeeze of honey and some desiccated coconut!

So there are five super easy and tasty breakfasts to kick start your day – whoever said eating healthy was boring clearly never looked past a salad! On a serious note: breakfast doesn’t have to be boring. I use to eat weetabix all the time because it felt like the healthiest/easiest option, but now I prefer something with a bit more flavour and a bit more goodness to set me up for the day.

Leave a Reply

