My Training

I guess anyone who follows me on social media will see me mention the gym a lot. Just like you may talk non-stop about your hobby, I like to talk about mine. It’s simply because a) I love doing it and b) I spend a lot of my time there.

But what do I actually do when I’m there?

Besides from being sidetracked by the PTs I have a little natter with, my training (and we call it training because we like to be serious about things) is fairly intense.

For the most part I split my training into body parts, training 5-6 times a week:

Chest and shoulders

Arms (biceps and triceps)

Legs (glutes and hamstrings / quads and calves)

Back

But recently, I’ve been on an internship which has meant I have only been able to train 3-4 times a week max, so I decided to change my splits:

Pull day (back and biceps)

Push day (chest, triceps and shoulders)

Leg day (inc. glutes, quads, calves and hamstrings)

I also do HIIT (high intensity interval training) on the treadmill 2-3 times a week, and I train abs/obliques 2-3 times a week at the end of sessions, for 10-15 minutes completely burning my little core. I find cardio and training abs boring so I have found that short bursts of these exercises are effective for me because a) high intensity interval training burns fat even after you’ve finished exercising and b) I focus more on really burning myself out rather than longer sessions of cardio/abs where I am more relaxed/a bit more half arsed.

I’ll be doing more blog posts about training, and examples of the kind of workouts you can do to focus on each muscle group/body part.

Leave a Reply

